About Lynn Scott’s Books

About Lynn Scott’s Books

I am the author of the memoir A Joyful Encounter: My Mother, My Alzheimer Clients, and Me. My book is not about the disease, but about the spirit that exists in us all as long as we live. I led my clients in singing the old familiar songs (“Take Me Out to The Ballgame,” “As Time Goes By,” “I Love You Truly”), and I reveled in the love I received and gave.

 

Currently I am completing a memoir with a working title of Oldham Street, about landing in a small sunny neighborhood of San Francisco in 1987 on thin emotional ice. I was helped to heal from deep grief by a unique set of unlikely healers.

Gertrude's house on Oldham Street. "I believe in neighboring!"

 

I’m an ordinary quirky woman with, if not an extraordinary life, at least a fully lived one. I am drawn to other quirky characters and write about them in my current memoir: Oldham Street.

Never having focused on money earning (but still needing to earn), I followed my heart into work, travel, mothering, and now grandmothering, but still writing. I offer help (at reasonable rates) to writers seeking line or word editing, or needing a neutral overview of a work in progress.  I welcome serious conversations about writing, or Life. 

I welcome your  stories about your quirky neighbors or family members.

  • So please click on this:



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “About Lynn Scott’s Books”

  1. Teresa LeYung Ryan Says:

    Lynn,
    Your new blog is lovely. I look forward to reading about wisdom from Oldham Street!

  2. Jessica Says:

    Hi Lynn. I really dig seeing you. And I know that you open yourself in ways that are flourishing, and I love when you do that. And the way you love your daughters like L over there in Italia having coffee on the piatza with the women way older than you. Also the way you make the most of where you love and the gifts that you have been given. It is fun to watch you grow, Great Spirit. Love you, Jessica

  3. lynnscott Says:

    I gave my neighbor, Mary, the latest version of Oldham Street to help me unstick. Her comment: “It was an honor and a privilege to climb to the top of the hill with Monika; read about you and J.C. smelling the pungent aroma of J.C.’s fabulous gardens; a work of art and a wonderful journey.”

    She also had good feedback of things to add. Now that is just what a stuck writer needs: trustworthy friends whose feedback makes sense. Thank you Mary.
    And also, I went back to my editor and she gave me very helpful feedback. So I am unstuck. Rose at 3 a.m. full of what I wanted to say next. Great.

Leave a Reply

